A 2023 scholarship winner stands with an Honor team member

Community Commitment Scholarship

Staying true to our roots in education, Honor Credit Union is proud to support outstanding high school and home school seniors in all of our communities through the annual Honor Credit Union Community Commitment Scholarship program. In 2024, Honor will award 12 scholarships worth $2,500 each for college, university, vocational, or trade school.

Enter To Win $2,500!


Learn about the requirements to be considered for a Community Commitment Scholarship


Apply to win a $2,500 scholarship for post-secondary trade school or college education


See how our selection committee scores applications and selects winners each year


See past winners of the Honor Community Commitment Scholarship



Selection & Scoring Criteria


Our selection committee will consider the following (based on a 20-point rubric):

  • Community Involvement (up to 8 points possible)
  • Essay (up to 8 points possible)
  • GPA (up to 4 points possible)
  • A minimum score of 10 points is required to be eligible for this scholarship.

Any additional information not requested in the application (letters, recommendations, etc.) will not be reviewed by the selection committee.

Winner Notification

  • Winners will be notified by Honor Credit Union, typically in late-April.
  • Checks will be made payable to the educational institution the winner included in their application
  • The checks will be mailed directly to that institution after August 1st.

2023 Winners

Twenty-eight students throughout Michigan were awarded $1,000 to be used towards furthering their education. The following students exemplify community commitment and are positive role models for their community service and academic success. These applicants were selected out of over 100 applications received for 2023:

Battle Creek / Coldwater Area

  • Sophia Laubscher – Coldwater High School
  • Raegan Gothard – Harper Creek High School
  • Abigale Keown – Pennfield High School
  • Nadalie Pratt – Pennfield High School

Buchanan / Niles / Berrien Springs / Eau Claire Area

  • Michael Wentworth – Buchanan High School
  • Jayce Arend – Eau Claire High School
  • Kailyn Miller – Niles High School

Benton Harbor / St. Joseph Area

  • Harmony Dohm – Michigan Lutheran H.S.
  • Lincoln White-Day – St. Joseph High School

Baroda / Stevensville Area

  • Ananya Bommineni – Lakeshore High School
  • Eden Gray – Lakeshore High School

Coloma / Hartford / South Haven Area

  • Alexander Ruiz – Covert High School
  • Abigail Garey – Hartford High School
  • Elizabeth Sell – South Haven High School

Greater Grand Rapids Area

  • Emma Johns – Jenison High School
  • Kenadee Schnick – Jenison High School
  • Ryan Anderson – Traverse City High School

Gwinn / Marquette / Negaunee Area

  • Kayla Watt – Gwinn High School
  • Brayden Dunstan – Negaunee High School
  • Sophia Valima – Superior Central Schools

Greater Kalamazoo Area

  • Cora Wegner – Dowagiac Union High School
  • Lyla Elrod – Dowagiac Union High School
  • Madison Vrba – Mattawan High School
  • Addyson Thomas – Otsego High School
  • Madison Hoffman – Otsego High School
  • Amanda Towne – Paw Paw High School
  • Ben Hunter – Portage Central High School
  • Lucy Glerum – Vicksburg High School

Past Winners

Check out our past Community Commitment Scholarship winners from across Michigan.

Zero Down Payment Offer

To make the process as simple as possible with our Zero Down Payment mortgage offer, we encourage you to speak with a mortgage expert so they can explain the requirements and guide you through the process!

Find An Expert Near You

Need Help? Contact us at 800.442.2800 and we will help you get started with the application process.