2019 Honor Teacher Award Winners Announced

honor credit union announced 40 teacher award winners for 2019; group of students holding boxes of crayons in a classroom

BERRIEN SPRINGS, MI – Nov. 26, 2019 – Honor Credit Union is thrilled to announce the winners of the 10th Annual Teacher Awards. After a difficult blind selection process, Honor team members selected 40 winners who each received $100 to use in their classroom or school.

Entrants submitted a short essay explaining how they would use the money to better educate their students. Nearly 600 submissions were received throughout Honor’s 24 local member center communities. The winners were selected based on their submission and classroom needs. The 10th Annual Teacher Award winners are:

  • Elise Millmier (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Julie Ziemelis (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Lindsay Bannatyne (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Mark Meyers (Bangor Public Schools)
  • Terrin Boe (Battle Creek Public Schools)
  • Laura McWethy (Battle Creek Public Schools)
  • Andrea Lemon (Berrien RESA)
  • Mica Borden (Berrien Springs Public Schools)
  • Lynne Listenberger (Brandywine Community Schools)
  • Jillian Klunder (Bridgman Public Schools)
  • Jessica Leenhouts (Buchanan Community Schools)
  • Katherine Cattes (Coloma Community School District)
  • Kathy Hollacher (Countryside Academy)
  • Pam Baker (Covert Public Schools)
  • Molly Dobberstein (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Karen Nuckels (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Alicia Stout (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Debora Barber (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • May Reed (Eau Claire Public Schools)
  • Amanda Kainulainen (Gwinn Area Community Schools
  • Kaitlin Rich (Ishpeming Public Schools)
  • Heidi Ellis (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Johnette Kurina (Lake Michigan Catholic)
  • Loni Fleming (Lakeview School District)
  • Jesse Kainulainen (Marquette Area Public Schools)
  • Lori Shivley (Marshall Public Schools)
  • Jacob Schmeltzer (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Jodi Johnson (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Heather Sokoloski (Otsego Public Schools)
  • Melissa Garrett (Otsego Public Schools)
  • Lisa Koop (Portage Public Schools)
  • Terri Adriance (Portage Public Schools)
  • Jennifer Longardner (Quincy Community Schools)
  • Tina King (Redwood Elementary School)
  • Rose Montie (River Valley School District)
  • Kristin Morlock (Riverside Hagar #6 School)
  • Michelle Kubath (St. Paul’s Lutheran Church and School)
  • Laura Chang (Vicksburg Community Schools)
  • Sawyer Duncan (Vicksburg Community Schools)
  • Jess Swackhamer (Village SDA School)

Honor Credit Union is committed to staying true to its roots in supporting local schools and teachers, and the Annual Teacher Awards is just one of the many ways Honor gives back throughout the year. The 11th Annual Teacher Awards will begin in August 2020. To learn more about Honor’s involvement in the schools, visit Honorcu.com/Teachers.


Halee Niemi
Brand Coordinator
800-442-2800, ext. 9501

Related Posts

Zero Down Payment Offer

To make the process as simple as possible with our Zero Down Payment mortgage offer, we encourage you to speak with a mortgage expert so they can explain the requirements and guide you through the process!

Find An Expert Near You

Need Help? Contact us at 800.442.2800 and we will help you get started with the application process.